© Rupert Oberhäuser/Stadt Essen
© Rupert Oberhäuser/Stadt Essen
Discover. Experience. Be inspired.

Holidays in Essen as a couple

Discover. Experience. Be inspired.

Holidays in Essen as a couple

From a short break to a holiday

Essen, which is located in the heart of the Ruhr area, is a modern, lively and varied city in which there is absolutely loads to do and discover, which makes it the perfect destination for an unforgettable holiday as a couple. We have put together a couple of tips for you to help you design the perfect trip to Essen.

DAY 1

UNESCO WORLD HERITAGE SITE ZOLLVEREIN – EXPERIENCE HISTORY AND THE PRESENT DAY
In Essen, visiting the Zollverein Coal Mine Industrial Complex , a UNESCO World Heritage Site which is also considered by people from Essen to be the “most beautiful mine in the world” or the “Eiffel Tower of the Ruhr area”, is definitely a must for your trip. In the same location at which arduous mining work was carried out in the past, you can now discover what is probably the most fascinating industrial history location: mining, design, architecture, culture and nature.

Our tip for if you have a bit of time left over or the weather isn’t great one day is to visit the Red Dot Design Museum at the Zollverein World Heritage Site. Surrounded by historic industrial architecture, the museum displays the world’s largest exhibition of contemporary design across five floors. The museum, with its innovative exhibits from around 45 countries, is on the list of the top 8 design museums in the world.

TRENDY NEIGHBOURHOOD OF RÜTTENSCHEID – SHOPPING, BROWSING, ENJOYING
The trendy area of Rüttenscheid is only 20 minutes away on the tram. Spending time here is an absolute must. This part of the city lives and breathes individuality: hip cafés, loads of bars, trendy restaurants and small shops and boutiques. You can enjoy shopping, browsing, good food and the unique flair of this young part of the city here. Rüttenscheider Straße, also known as “Rü”, is the perfect place to take a stroll in any season. Tip: Make sure you don’t forget about the side streets. It’s worth having a good look around!

From “Rü”, you can reach Grugapark on foot, which is the green lung of the city: comprising around 60 hectares, it is one of the most spacious and beautiful city parks in Europe and draws in over 1 million visitors a year. Taking a walk through the numerous themed gardens really is a must-do activity for your Essen trip.

Seaside Beach Baldeney | © Daniel Müller/Stadt Essen

DAY 2

ON THE WATER – TOTAL RELAXATION AT BALDENEYSEE
Baldeneysee , which is located in the southern part of the city, is the perfect spot for a canoe trip. Simply hire a canoe – the hire station in Essen-Kupferdreh opens at 10 am. Whether you are on the water or in the water, you will be surrounded by a varied and beautiful natural and industrial cultural landscape at Baldeneysee. A bird sanctuary with cormorants and kingfishers, the historic Hespertalbahn, the Haus Scheppen biker meeting place or the former Carl Funke mine... the Baldeneysee has so many different things to offer, with the distance around it comprising almost 14 km. On the hills you can also see and visit Villa Hügel. Villa Hügel is the former residence of the industrialist family of Alfred Krupp and, with 269 rooms, it is the largest single-family residence in Germany.

SEASIDE BEACH BALDENEY – ENJOYING THE SUNSHINE ON THE BEACH
After the trip around the lake, a great place to relax is Seaside Beach Baldeney with a refreshing cocktail in your hand and sand between your toes. The paradise beach, which is 250 metres long and 35 metres wide, offers a magical view of Baldeneysee and creates a real summer vibe at any time of the year with over 100 real palm trees. You can chill out on the sun loungers or at one of the many bars. If you feel like being more active, that’s no problem either! You can hire surfboards there, play volleyball or try out high rope climbing parkour.

BaldeneySteig | © Jochen Tack/Stadt Essen

DAY 3

RUHR AREA HIKING PARADISE – REALLY CLOSE TO NATURE
Long hikes in a city like Essen? Absolutely! As the third-greenest city in Germany, Essen is pretty much paradise for people who love nature. Our tip: The BaldeneySteig, a circular route around Baldeneysee which is 26.7 km long. Thanks to the well-marked hiking trails, this trail offers a unique nature experience. The landscape along the trail is wonderfully varied. Whilst steep forests, narrow paths and magnificent views dominate the landscape to the north of the lake, the south side is characterised by large fields and traces of mining history.

Is 26.7 km too far for you? Thanks to the Weiße Flotte Baldeney GmbH ships, the Hespertalbahn and public transport, you can also hike just part of the BaldeneySteig. You can also choose wherever you wish to start.

Important: Even though we’re not in the Alps, having good hiking shoes is an advantage.

Download the hiking map for the BaldeneySteig (pdf, 3 MB)

You can also find more shorter walks in Essen here (pdf, 1 MB)

Sightseeingtour | © Mike Henning/EMG

DAY 4

SIGHTSEEING ON OPEN-TOP BUSES – ALL ABOARD, PLEASE
The best way of exploring the history of the city of Essen and the most important sights is on the double-decker open-top bus provided as part of the Ruhr area city tours. The tour takes two hours and takes you past, for example, the UNESCO World Heritage Site Zollverein , the garden town of Margarethenhöhe and Villa Hügel .

You can book tickets here (only in German)

MUSEUM FOLKWANG, MUSEUM OF THE YEAR – VAN GOGH, MONET & PICASSO
Four pieces of art by Van Gogh plus free entry: you only get that at Museum Folkwang , which is one of the most important art museums in Germany and definitely needs to be on your must-see list for your time in Essen. The outstanding collection, which includes works by Van Gogh, as well as works by Monet, Cézanne, Picasso, Klee, Rodin and Rothko, is a cultural highlight. As well as art from the 19th century to classical modernism, the museum regularly hosts large public and temporary exhibitions.

DAY 4

SIGHTSEEING ON OPEN-TOP BUSES – ALL ABOARD, PLEASE
The best way of exploring the history of the city of Essen and the most important sights is on the double-decker open-top bus provided as part of the Ruhr area city tours. The tour takes two hours and takes you past, for example, the UNESCO World Heritage Site Zollverein , the garden town of Margarethenhöhe and Villa Hügel .

You can book tickets here (only in German)

MUSEUM FOLKWANG, MUSEUM OF THE YEAR – VAN GOGH, MONET & PICASSO
Four pieces of art by Van Gogh plus free entry: you only get that at Museum Folkwang , which is one of the most important art museums in Germany and definitely needs to be on your must-see list for your time in Essen. The outstanding collection, which includes works by Van Gogh, as well as works by Monet, Cézanne, Picasso, Klee, Rodin and Rothko, is a cultural highlight. As well as art from the 19th century to classical modernism, the museum regularly hosts large public and temporary exhibitions.

Lichtburg Essen | © Peter Wieler/EMG

DAY 5

CYCLING IN ESSEN – I WANT TO RIDE MY BICYCLE
Ride around 260 km through Essen... with an extensive cycle path network, that’s no problem at all. The ideal way to discover industrial culture, parks, forests and fields, as well as vibrant city life, is on a bike. The majority of the cycle paths have been constructed on disused railway lines, which were being used to transport coal and steel until a couple of decades ago. By the way, this is the perfect way to explore the Ruhr area surrounding Essen too because the cycle paths don’t stop at the city boundaries!

Our tips for a day trip: North beer garden route : 43 km, Railway route : 40 km, Mining route : 38 km, Krupp route : 31 km

You can also find more shorter trips here

You can hire bikes here

CURTAIN UP – CINEMA DOESN’T GET MORE VARIED THAN THIS
Essen has some outstanding cinema culture. This includes art house cinemas, such as Astra Theater, Filmstudio Glückauf, Eulenspiegel, Galerie Cinema and the legendary Lichtburg Essen . With 1,250 seats, this is Germany’s largest film theatre and a popular location for premieres with international stars. In addition to the cinema shows, concerts, readings, cabaret and theatre are also hosted in the listed film palace, which dates from the 1920s and is one of Germany’s most popular cinemas. So it’s the perfect place to spend a lovely evening in Essen.

Do you like things that are a little more unusual? Then why not visit Autokino in Essen – retro charm is guaranteed!

Finish off your day with a culinary highlight | © Nina Gschlößl/Stadt Essen

DAY 6

HIKING HOLIDAY FOR ENTHUSIASTS – KETTWIGER PANORAMASTEIG
The Kettwiger Panoramasteig to the north and south of the Ruhr is a little longer than the BaldeneySteig at around 35 kilometres and requires a bit more fitness too. The stunning landscape along the trail is characterised by hilly, sometimes steep, forest areas, fields and small rustic settlements. You will find lots of places to get refreshments along the hiking trail, such as beer gardens and restaurants.

You should definitely plan an entire day for the trail and wear hiking boots to ensure you don’t slip.

Our tip: The Kettwiger Panoramasteig can be connected to the BaldeneySteig, meaning that you can explore the beautiful southern part of Essen on foot, covering around 60 kilometres in total.

Download the hiking maps: Kettwiger Panoramasteig (pdf, 18 MB) and BaldeneySteig (pdf, 3 MB)

You can also find more shorter walks in Essen (pdf, 1 MB)

CULINARY ESSEN – A GREAT WAY TO FINISH YOUR DAY
When you’ve been hiking for the whole day, you’ve more than earned some really good food. The multiculturalism of the city (people of more than 100 nationalities have found their home in Essen) is also reflected in the city’s restaurant industry. This means that the range of food on offer spans from local to oriental dishes, from chips and Currywurst to caviar and from little snacks for on the go to a menu with multiple courses in one of the three Michelin-starred restaurants.

Margarethenhöhe Estate | © Diana Blinkert/EMG

DAY 7

MARGARETHENHÖHE GARDEN TOWN – A WINDOW TO ANOTHER WORLD
On the final day of your trip, we recommend that you take a stroll through the listed Margarethenhöhe garden town. This idyllic part of the city, which was created between 1909 and 1938, is considered to be the most beautiful example of the German concept of a garden town. Although the settlement has an image of unity, the houses are all different and there is something new to discover on every corner. You’ll love it!

Our tip: why not visit an apartment fitted out according to historical standards. You can only visit this apartment on tours.

Overnight accommodation in a double room with breakfast from EUR 69.00

This might also interest you

Tips for your journey

Write us

Contact

EMG - Essen Marketing GmbH
Tourist Info

Kettwiger Str. 2-10
45127 Essen

+49 201 8872333
touristinfo@essen.de

Your message to the Tourist Info

Niederfeldsee | © Rupert Oberhäuser/Stadt Essen
Niederfeldsee | © Rupert Oberhäuser/Stadt Essen
Ent­decken. Er­leben. Be­geistern.

Urlaub zu zweit in Essen

Ent­decken. Er­leben. Be­geistern.

Urlaub zu zweit in Essen

vom Kurztrip zum Urlaub

Essen im Herzen des Ruhrgebiets ist eine moderne, lebendige und vielseitige Stadt, in der Sie super viel erleben und entdecken können – sie ist damit das perfekte Reiseziel für einen unvergesslichen Urlaub zu zweit. Wir haben für Sie ein paar Tipps zusammengestellt, wie Sie den perfekten Trip in Essen gestalten können.

UNESCO-Welterbe Zollverein | © Jochen Tack/Stiftung Zollverein

Tag 1

UNESCO-WELTERBE ZOLLVEREIN – GESCHICHTE UND GEGENWART ERLEBEN
In Essen gehört ein Besuch der Zeche Zollverein , UNESCO-Welterbe und von Essenern auch "schönste Zeche der Welt" oder "Eifelturm des Ruhrgebiets" genannt, definitiv mit auf IhreTo-do-Liste. Wo früher hart malocht wurde, können Sie heute den wohl faszinierendsten Ort der Industriegeschichte entdecken: Bergbau, Design, Architektur, Kultur und Natur.

Unser Tipp, wenn Sie noch ein wenig Zeit haben oder das Wetter mal nicht mitspielt: ein Besuch des Red Dot Design Museums auf dem Gelände des Welterbes Zollverein. Inmitten historischer Industriearchitektur zeigt das Museum auf fünf Etagen die weltweit größte Ausstellung zeitgenössischen Designs. Das Museum mit innovativen Objekten aus rund 45 Ländern ist auf der Liste der Design-Museen unter den Top 8 der Welt vertreten.

SZENE-VIERTEL RÜTTENSCHEID – SHOPPEN, STÖBERN, GENIESSEN
Mit der Tram nur 20 Minuten entfernt liegt das Szene-Viertel Rüttenscheid . Hier müssen Sie definitiv Zeit verbringen. Der Stadtteil lebt von seiner Individualität: hippe Cafés, etliche Bars, trendige Restaurants und kleine Geschäfte und Boutiquen. Hier können Sie shoppen, stöbern, schlemmen und das einzigartige Flair dieses jungen Stadtteils genießen. Die Rüttenscheider Straße, auch „Rü“ genannt, ist ein perfekter Ort zum Schlendern – egal zu welcher Jahreszeit. Tipp: Die Seitenstraßen auf keinen Fall außer Acht lassen. Die Entdeckungstour lohnt sich!

Fußläufig von der „Rü“ erreichbar ist der Grugapark , die grüne Lunge der Stadt – mit etwa 60 Hektar ist er einer der weiträumigsten und schönsten europäischen Stadtparks mit jährlich mehr als 1 Mio. Besuchern. Ein Spaziergang durch die zahlreichen Themengärten gehört quasi zum Pflichtprogramm auf Ihrem Essen-Trip.

Seaside Beach Baldeney | © Daniel Müller/Stadt Essen

Tag 2

AUF DEM WASSER – ERHOLUNG PUR AM BALDENEYSEE
Der Baldeneysee im Süden der Stadt eignet sich hervorragend für eine Rundtour mit dem Kanu. Leihen Sie sich einfach ein Kanu aus – die Station in Essen-Kupferdreh öffnet um 10:00 Uhr. Ob auf oder am Wasser, rund um den Baldeneysee erwarten Sie eine abwechslungsreiche und reizvolle Natur- und Industrie-Kulturlandschaft. Ein Vogelschutzgebiet mit Kormoranen und Eisvögeln, die historische Hespertalbahn, der Bikertreff Haus Scheppen oder die ehemalige Zeche Carl Funke – so viel Abwechslung bietet nur der Baldeneysee auf seinem knapp 14 km langen Rundgang. Auf den Anhöhen können Sie außerdem die Villa Hügel sehen und besichtigen. Die Villa Hügel ist der ehemalige Wohnsitz der Industriellenfamilie Alfred Krupp und mit 269 Zimmern das größte Einfamilienhaus Deutschlands.

SEASIDE BEACH BALDENEY – SONNIGE STUNDEN AM STRAND
Nach der Tour um den See lässt es sich hervorragend am Seaside Beach Baldeney mit einem erfrischenden Cocktail in der Hand und mit Sand zwischen den Zehen entspannen. Der 250 Meter lange und 35 Meter breite Traumstrand sorgt mit über 100 echten Palmen sowie einem traumhaften Blick auf den Baldeneysee für Sommerfeeling zu jeder Jahreszeit. Chillen können Sie sowohl auf den Sonnenliegen als auch an einer der vielen Bars. Sollten Sie noch Lust auf mehr Bewegung haben, kein Problem! Vor Ort können Sie sich Surfbretter ausleihen, Volleyball spielen oder den Hochseil-Kletterparcours testen.

Baldeneysteig | © Jochen Tack/Stadt Essen

Tag 3

WANDERPARADIES RUHRGEBIET – DER NATUR GANZ NAH
Ausgiebige Wanderungen in einer Großstadt wie Essen? Absolut! Als drittgrünste Stadt Deutschlands ist Essen quasi ein Eldorado für Naturfreunde. Unser Tipp: Der BaldeneySteig, ein 26,7 km langer Rundweg rund um den Baldeneysee. Der Steig sorgt mit seinen gut markierten Wanderwegen für ein einzigartiges Naturerlebnis. Die Landschaft entlang des Steigs ist dabei super abwechslungsreich. Während nördlich des Sees steile Wälder, schmale Wege und grandiose Aussichten dominieren, wird die Südseite von weiten Feldern und Spuren der Bergbaugeschichte geprägt.

26,7 km sind Ihnen zu lang? Dank der Schiffe der Weißen Flotte Baldeney GmbH , der Hespertalbahn und den öffentlichen Verkehrsmitteln , können Sie auch nur einen Teil des BaldeneySteigs wandern. Dadurch lässt sich auch der Startpunkt beliebig variieren.

Wichtig: Auch wenn wir uns nicht in den Alpen befinden, ein guter Wanderschuh ist von Vorteil.

Download der Wanderkarte für den BaldeneySteig (pdf, 7230 kB)

Weitere, auch kürzere Wanderungen in Essen finden Sie hier (pdf, 1461 kB)

Stadrundfahrt | © Mike Henning/EMG

Tag 4

SIGHTSEEING MIT DEM CABRIOBUS – EINSTEIGEN BITTE
Einmal quer durch die Geschichte der Stadt Essen und die wichtigsten Sehenswürdigkeiten anfahren, können Sie am besten mit dem Doppelstock-Cabriobus der Ruhrgebiets Stadtrundfahrten. Zwei Stunden dauert die Tour und führt unter anderem am UNESCO-Welterbe Zollverein , der Gartenstadt Margarethenhöhe und der Villa Hügel vorbei.

Tickets können Sie hier buchen

MUSEUM FOLKWANG, MUSEUM DES JAHRES – VAN GOGH, MONET & PICASSO
Vier Werke Van Goghs und dazu noch freier Eintritt – das gibt es nur im Museum Folkwang , das zu den bedeutendsten Kunstmuseen Deutschlands zählt und definitiv mit auf Ihre To-do-Liste gehört, wenn Sie in Essen sind. Die herausragende Sammlung, die neben Werken von Van Gogh auch Arbeiten von Monet, Cézanne, Picasso, Klee, Rodin und Rothko präsentiert, ist ein kulturelles Highlight. Neben der Kunst des 19. Jahrhunderts bis zur klassischen Moderne, präsentiert das Museum regelmäßig große Publikums- und Wechselausstellungen.

Lichtburg Essen | © Peter Wieler/EMG

Tag 5

RADFAHREN IN ESSEN – I WANT TO RIDE MY BICYCLE
Rund 260 km quer durch Essen fahren – mit dem umfangreich ausgebauten Radwegenetz ist das gar kein Problem. Industriekultur, Parks, Wälder und Felder sowie pulsierendes Stadtleben – all das können Sie ideal auf dem Fahrrad erkunden. Ein Großteil der Radwege wurde auf stillgelegten Bahntrassen errichtet, auf denen bis vor ein paar Jahrzehnten noch Kohle und Stahl transportiert wurden. So lässt sich übrigens auch perfekt das Ruhrgebiet rund um Essen erkunden, da die Radwege an Stadtgrenzen nicht enden!

Unsere Tipps für eine Tagestour: Biergartentour Nord : 43 km, Bahntrassentour : 40 km, Zechentour : 38 km, Krupp-Tour : 31 km

Weitere, auch kürzere Touren finden Sie hier

Fahrräder können Sie sich hier ausleihen

VORHANG AUF – MEHR KINOVIELFALT GEHT NICHT
Essen verfügt über eine herausragende Kinokultur. Dazu zählen Programmkinos wie das Astra Theater , das Filmstudio Glückauf , das Eulenspiegel , die Galerie Cinema und die legendäre Lichtburg Essen , mit 1.250 Plätzen Deutschlands größtes Filmtheater und beliebter Ort für Premieren mit internationalen Stars. In dem denkmalgeschützten Filmpalast aus den 20er-Jahren, der zu den beliebtesten Kinos Deutschlands zählt, finden neben den Kinovorstellungen oft Konzerte, Lesungen, Kabarett und Schauspiel statt. Ein perfekter Ort also, um einen Abend in Essen ausklingen zu lassen.

Sie mögen es noch ausgefallener? Dann besucht das Autokino in Essen – Retro-Charme garantiert!

Kulinarisch den Tag ausklingen lassen | © Nina Gschlößl/Stadt Essen

Tag 6

WANDERURLAUB FÜR ENTHUSIASTEN – KETTWIGER PANORAMASTEIG
Der Kettwiger PanoramaSteig nördlich und südlich der Ruhr ist mit seinen rund 35 Kilometern etwas länger als der BaldeneySteig und erfordert auch ein wenig mehr Kondition. Die traumhafte Landschaft entlang des Steigs ist geprägt durch hügelige, teils steile Waldbereiche, Felder und kleine, fast bäuerliche Siedlungen. Entlang des Wanderwegs finden Sie etliche Einkehrmöglichkeiten wie Biergärten und Restaurants.

Für den Steig sollten Sie auf jeden Fall einen ganzen Tag einplanen und Wanderschuhe für den sicheren Tritt anziehen.

Unser Tipp: Der Kettwiger PanoramaSteig lässt sich mit dem BaldeneySteig verbinden – dann geht es insgesamt rund 60 Kilometer zu Fuß durch Essens wunderschönen Süden.

Download der Wanderkarten: Kettwiger PanoramaSteig (pdf, 19122 kB) und BaldeneySteig (pdf, 7230 kB)

Weitere, auch kürzere Wanderungen in Essen finden Sie hier (pdf, 1461 kB)

ESSEN KULINARISCH – DEN TAG AUSKLINGEN LASSEN
Wer den ganzen Tag gewandert ist, hat sich ein richtig gutes Essen mehr als verdient. Die Multikulturalität der Stadt – in Essen haben mehr als 100 Nationalitäten eine Heimat gefunden – spiegelt sich auch in der Gastronomie wider. So reicht die Spannbreite von lokalen bis zu orientalischen Speisen, von Pommes-Currywurst bis zum Kaviar und vom kleinen Hunger zwischendurch bis hin zum mehrgängigen Menü in einem der drei mit einem Michelin Stern ausgezeichneten Restaurants.

Gartenstadt Margarethenhöhe | © Diana Blinkert/EMG

Tag 7

GARTENSTADT MARGARETHENHÖHE – WIE IN EINER ANDEREN WELT
Am letzten Tag Ihrer Reise empfehlen wir Ihnen einen Spaziergang durch die denkmalgeschützte Gartenstadt Margarethenhöhe . Der idyllische Stadtteil, der zwischen 1909 und 1938 entstanden ist, gilt als schönstes Beispiel für die deutsche Gartenstadtidee. Obwohl die Siedlung ein Bild der Geschlossenheit bildet, gleicht kaum ein Haus dem anderen; an jeder Ecke gibt es etwas Neues zu entdecken. Seien Sie gespannt!

Unser Tipp: eine Besichtigung einer nach historischem Vorbild eingerichteten Musterwohnung. Diese können Sie nur im Rahmen von Führungen besichtigen.

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

Weitere Tipps für Ihre Reise

Schreiben Sie uns

Kontakt

EMG - Essen Marketing GmbH
Tourist Info
Kettwiger Str. 2-10
45127 Essen

+49 201 8872333
touristinfo@essen.de

Ihre Mitteilung an die Tourist Info

Coronavirus in Essen

Auf Grund der momentanen Situation können wir nicht immer dafür garantieren, dass alles stattfindet oder geöffnet ist, wie hier angegeben. Bitte informieren Sie sich zusätzlich bei der jeweiligen Institution oder dem Veranstalter über die aktuellen Besonderheiten.
Weitere Informationen rund um das Coronavirus in Essen

Unsere Website verwendet Cookies. Details regelt unsere Datenschutzerklärung.